“If your compassion does not include yourself, it is incomplete” – Buddha

Akira Yoga Claire Green, claire green akira yoga lead trainer yoga dunia lembongan

Written by Akira Yoga

September 22, 2020

 Being compassionate, practicing self compassion, towards yourself means acting in a caring way towards yourself whenever you have made a mistake, are having a difficult time, or feel inadequate.

Instead of ignoring how you feel, you can stop & ask yourself, what is going on right now and how can I care for & respond to myself in a positive way.

compassion quotes
self acceptance

Compassion meaning | Self Compassion | Self Acceptance

Having compassion for ourselves does not mean self-pity or self-indulgence,

but the ability for honest reflection for greater self-clarity, any failings can be acknowledged with kindness and do not need to be hidden. That way we can learn and grow.

You may choose to change to become healthier and happier, but this is because you care for yourself rather than feel not good enough or unacceptable as you are.

Being compassion towards yourself means you honor and accept your humanness, things will not always go the way you want them to, you will make mistakes, you will have frustrations, this is part of being human and a reality shared by us all.

Often, we can care for others but leave ourselves behind. We must learn to include ourselves with loving kindness and develop self -patience. Embracing self-acceptance and choosing to focus on progress rather than perfection.

We can develop self-compassion by noticing and changing how we speak to ourselves, forgiving ourselves for any mistakes, practicing self-care techniques within our daily routines & habits, doing what brings us joy, encouraging a healthy lifestyle and setting achievable challenges to gain positive self-esteem.

The more we can open our hearts to this reality instead of fighting against it, the more we can develop self-compassion and in turn become compassionate, accepting and forgiving towards others.

Practicing these 4 Self-Care Mantras will help you be kinder to Yourself

MANTRA MEANING: Like many new-age terms, mantra is a Sanskrit word,  “manas” meaning mind/to-think, and “tra” meaning vehicle. So a man-tra could be translate as a “mind-vehicle” or a way to transport us beyond our thoughts.

A mantra is a word or sentence or even just a sound, as the OM who traditionally open and close a yoga practice, said repetitively to yourself – it’s often used during meditation. Mantras quiet your brain and help you focus on one particular thought. A mantra can be about anything, but here we ganna focus on mantras that help you feel good about YOU.

1 – I know who I am and I am enough.

This is an important one: remind yourself that, no matter what, you are enough the way you are. You don’t need to change or adjust to be what someone else wants you to be.

2 – This is a moment of suffering. Suffering is part of life. Let me be kind to myself in this moment. Let me give myself the compassion I need – Kristin Neff


3 – The presence of my self is compassionate – 

Use the Sanskrit Mantra Karuna Hum (I am compassion) in your Meditation. Sit comfortably, soften your eyes, focus on your breath, and start to repeat mentally the Mantra – KARUMA HUM – KARUMA HUM – until you feel better.

4 – I am free to be myself – 

Being yourself is so, so important. Use this mantra to remember that, no matter what, you should be you.

Practicing a Heart Chakra Focused Yin Yoga Sequence
could also help you be kinder to Yourself

The heart chakra or Anahata Chakra is the center chakra of the seven main chakras, associated with love, compassion, and self-acceptance. As the center point of the seven chakras, this energy center is the meeting point between the physical and spiritual aspects. When this Chakra is balanced, we feel love, compassion, and self-acceptance. At the opposite when imbalanced, we can be angry, jealous, sad, and untrusting. The following is 4 Yin Yoga poses to draw awareness to this Chakra.

1 – Anahatasana Melting Heart Pose Over Blocks

2 – Supta Virasana Reclined Hero Pose With Blankets

3 – Setu Bandhasana Supported Bridge Pose Bolster Blanket

4 – Bhujangasana Sphinx Pose With Bolster Under Chest